Contact FreedomWorks

400 North Capitol Street, NW
Suite 765
Washington, DC 20001

  • Toll Free 1.888.564.6273
  • Local 202.783.3870


    Senate Votes to Continue Earmark Favor Factory


    In a disappointing turn, the Senate voted last night against the DeMint amendment for a moratorium on earmarks for the 2009 fiscal year.  The good guys voting for the ban:

    Alexander (R-TN)
    Allard (R-CO)
    Barrasso (R-WY)
    Bayh (D-IN)
    Burr (R-NC)
    Chambliss (R-GA)
    Clinton (D-NY)
    Coburn (R-OK)
    Corker (R-TN)
    Cornyn (R-TX)
    DeMint (R-SC)
    Dole (R-NC)
    Ensign (R-NV)
    Enzi (R-WY)
    Feingold (D-WI)
    Graham (R-SC)
    Grassley (R-IA)
    Inhofe (R-OK)
    Isakson (R-GA)
    Kyl (R-AZ)
    Lieberman (ID-CT)
    Martinez (R-FL)
    McCain (R-AZ)
    McCaskill (D-MO)
    McConnell (R-KY)
    Obama (D-IL)
    Sessions (R-AL)
    Sununu (R-NH)
    Thune (R-SD)

    Among the votes to continue business as usual, the most disappointing were erstwhile conservatives and good-government types Sens. Hagel, Brownback, Crapo, Craig, Bunning, Hutchison, Lugar, Wicker, Shelby, and Vitter.  Still, Sen. DeMint and his allies deserve a huge cheer for advancing the issue this far in the face of tremendous institutional opposition.  Given progress in the House and within the Bush Administration, this fight isn't over.