Contact FreedomWorks

111 K Street NE
Suite 600
Washington, DC 20002

  • Toll Free 1.888.564.6273
  • Local 202.783.3870
LISTEN NOWThe Freedom Files Podcast Episode 54: David BahnsenListen Here

Press Release

Tax Reform Thursday!

04/07/2004

This year, on Thursday April 15th, infamously known as “Tax Day”, CSE wants to let Congress know that it is time to Scrap the Code!

Nobody, not even the IRS, understands our tax code, and it gets more complicated every year. That’s why CSE is sending the politicians a loud message this Tax Day: It’s time to Scrap the Code! Activities will include rallying at post offices, distributing educational literature and Scrap the Code petitions as well as recruiting and signing up new members to join the fight for tax reform.

The current code is a 44,000 page catalog of favors for special interests and a chamber of horrors for the rest of America. CSE is dedicated to eliminating the unfair, burdensome tax code all Americans face today, and there’s no better time to start than Tax Day! With this campaign, we hope to educate and mobilize activists to fight for a tax system that is simple, low, fair and honest.

A great first step toward fundamental tax reform is to cut federal spending and to make permanent the tax cuts passed by President Bush in 2001 and 2003. Additionally, confirming marriage penalty relief and killing the unfair “Death Tax” need to be priorities for Congress this year. No doubt, fundamental tax reform will free billions of man-hours wasted filling out forms every year, and spark economic growth and jobs creation in every state. This is the message we want to deliver on Tax Day.

Call 1-800-985-8762 to speak to members of Congress and deliver this important message and take part in CSE Tax Day activities on April 15th, 2004.

Download the Petition and find out more about how you can participate in Tax Day. Contact one of CSE’s state directors:

Florida – John Hallman john.hallman@realtor.com

Michigan – Andy Anuzis andyanuzis@yahoo.com

North Carolina – Allen Page a.page@mindspring.com (336) 584-3386

Oregon – Russ Walker rwalker@cse.org (503) 463-9457

Wisconsin – Cameron Sholty csholty@cse.org (414) 899-9112

Washington – Jamie Daniels jdaniels@cse.org (360) 456-1634