Capitol Hill Update: November 26, 2018


The House and Senate are in session this week.


There are 431 voting members of the House and four vacancies. The party divisions are 236 Republicans and 195 Democrats. The vacant seats are WV-03, FL-06, PA-15, and MI-13. The House will return on Tuesday. Legislative business begins at 2:00 pm. Votes are postponed until 6:30 pm. There are 29 bills on the suspension calendar for the week. Twelve of the bills on the suspension calendar are post office namings, which we’ve excluded from the list below.

  • Concurring in the Senate Amendment to H.R. 4254, Women in Aerospace Education Act
  • S. 1768, National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program Reauthorization Act
  • H.R. 5273, Global Fragility and Violence Reduction Act
  • H.R. 1567, United States-Mexico Economic Partnership Act
  • H.R. 6207, Democratic Republic of the Congo Democracy and Accountability Act
  • H.R. 4591, Preventing Destabilization of Iraq Act
  • Concurring in the Senate Amendment to H.R. 390, Iraq and Syria Genocide Emergency Relief and Accountability Act
  • Concurring in the Senate Amendment to the House Amendment to S. 140, Frank LoBiondo Coast Guard Authorization Act
  • H.R. 6032, State of Modern Application, Research, and Trends of IoT Act
  • H.R. 6753, Strengthening the Health Care Fraud Prevention Task Force Act
  • Concurring in the Senate Amendment to H.R. 2422, Action for Dental Health Act
  • H.R. 2846, Federal Agency Customer Experience Act
  • H.R. 3121, All-American Flag Act
  • H.R. 3154, Inspector General Access Act
  • H.R. 5759, 21st Century IDEA
  • H.R. 6777, Settlement Agreement Information Database Act
  • H.R. 6901, Federal CIO Authorization Act

Although more legislation could be added, there aren’t any rule bills currently listed on the calendar.

The committee schedule for the week can be found here.


The Senate returns today at 3:00 pm. A vote on cloture will happen around 5:30 pm. Before adjourning for the Thanksgiving recess, Leader Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.) filed cloture on five nominations, who are listed below.

  • Stephen Vaden to serve as the General Counsel of the Department of Agriculture.
  • Karen Kelley to serve as the Deputy Secretary of Commerce.
  • Thomas Farr to serve as a U.S. District Judge for the Eastern District of North Carolina.
  • Jonathan Kobes to serve as a U.S. Circuit Judge for the Eighth Circuit.
  • Kathleen Kraninger to serve as the Director of the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau.

Vaden’s nomination will be considered first, and the vote today will be on the cloture motion for his nomination. We’re not sure of the order of the remaining nominees.

The committee schedule for the week can be found here.