Contact FreedomWorks

111 K Street NE
Suite 600
Washington, DC 20002

  • Toll Free 1.888.564.6273
  • Local 202.783.3870
WATCH NOWConfirming ACB, Debating Candidates, and Grilling James Comey | Pardon the DisruptionWatch Here


FreedomWorks, Coalition of 23 Other Groups Demand Congress Support FCC's Restoring Internet Freedom Order

FreedomWorks is proud to have co-authored and signed a coalition letter uniting 24 leading conservative, free market, and consumer groups in support of the FCC's recent Restoring Internet Freedom Order. This letter urges members of Congress to oppose any attempt by Democrats to use the Congressional Review Act to overturn the FCC's decision to end onerous public utility-style regulation of the internet. Read the text of the letter and other signatories below and view the official letter here.

January 22, 2018

Dear Senators & Representatives:

We, the undersigned organizations, representing millions of taxpayers and consumers nationwide, urge Congress to oppose usage of the Congressional Review Act to overturn the Federal Communications Commission's (FCC) Restoring Internet Freedom Order.

For years, the Internet thrived and expanded into what we know today under the light-touch regulatory framework established under the 1996 Telecommunications Act. That legislation, enacted in bipartisan fashion, allowed the web to grow rapidly, revolutionizing commerce around the world, creating countless jobs, and improving the lives of billions, all while keeping reasonable consumer protection mechanisms in place.

Former FCC Chairman Tom Wheeler’s 2015 decision to classify the Internet as a public utility under Title II was a solution in search of a problem, and disrupted the Federal Trade Commission’s (FTC) tried and true approach. Three unelected bureaucrats undertook the new Title II decision, whereas the prior classification was passed after long deliberation between elected representatives from both parties. This is not the way policy should be conducted, especially in an area that has such a substantial impact on the U.S. economy.

The FCC’s Restoring Internet Freedom Order undoes this hasty, irresponsible measure. It upholds the principle that the power to change the law rests exclusively with Congress, not unelected bureaucrats.

Contrary to assertions that, without Title II internet service providers (ISPs) would be essentially unregulated, Title I allows the Federal Trade Commission, Department of Justice, and state Attorneys General to police unfair, deceptive, and anti-competitive behavior by ISPs.

The best consumer safeguard in any market is always vigorous competition. Title II regulation is antithetical to this fundamental principle. Since the prospect of Title II regulation was first floated at the FCC in 2010, investment is $200 billion behind projections. Such public utility-style regulation also has a proven history of boxing-out more innovative startups in other sectors, while entrenching existing firms.

This lack of investment exacerbates the digital divide between rural and urban communities. The net cannot be neutral if government regulations deny access to the most vulnerable in our society. This is the reason why Democrats, such as Clinton administration FCC Chairman Bill Kennard, Senator Ron Wyden, and former Senator John Kerry all supported a Title I approach versus Title II for broadband Internet.

We urge you to oppose use of the Congressional Review Act on this matter. A CRA disapproval resolution would restore and make the FCC’s 2015 overreach permanent - the FCC could not disclaim Title II powers over the Internet.

Congress had the wisdom to allow a system that permitted business to thrive and still shielded consumers. Under Title II, the American people got neither. While we believe that the FTC, DOJ and state Attorneys General already have robust powers, there may be a need for additional legislation. However, that is a decision for Congress, not unelected bureaucrats.

It is for these reasons that we ask members of Congress to oppose any attempts to use the Congressional Review Act to overturn the Restoring Internet Freedom Order.


Adam Brandon- President- FreedomWorks

David Barnes- Policy Director- Generation Opportunity

Mario H. Lopez- President- Hispanic Leadership Fund

Seton Motley- President- Less Government

Daniel Garza- President- The Libre Initiative

Bartlett Cleland- Managing Director- Madery Bridge Associates

Mike Wendy- President- MediaFreedom

Pete Sepp- President- National Tax Payers Union

Scott Cleland- Chairman- NetCompetition

Karen Kerrigan- President & CEO- Small Business and Entrepreneurship Council

David Williams- President- Taxpayers Protection Alliance

Grover Norquist- President- Americans for Tax Reform

Lisa B. Nelson- CEO- ALEC Action

Phil Kerpen- President- American Commitment

Steve Pociask- President- American Consumer Institute

Daniel Schneider- Executive Director- American Conservative Union

Chrissy Harbin- Vice President of External Affairs- Americans for Prosperity

Andrew F. Quinlan- President- Center for Freedom and Prosperity

Jeffery L. Mazzella- President- Center for Individual Freedom

Clyde Wayne Crews- Vice President for Policy- Competitive Enterprise Institute

Thomas A. Schatz- President- Council for Citizens Against Government Waste

Katie McAuliffe- Executive Director- Digital Liberty

Nathan Nascimento- Executive Vice President- Freedom Partners Chamber of Commerce

George Landrith- President- Frontiers of Freedom