FreedomWorks Announces 2015 FreedomFighter Award Winners

FreedomWorks today announced the FreedomFighter Award winners for 2015. The FreedomFighter Award recognizes members of the House and Senate who consistently vote to support economic freedom and individual liberty. FreedomWorks CEO Adam Brandon and FreedomWorks Director of Government Relations Neil Siefring presented the awards Wednesday afternoon at the Rayburn House Office Building. Photos of the individual presentations are available upon request.

Eligibility for the award is based on votes on FreedomWorks’ Congressional Scorecard. In 2015, FreedomWorks scored key votes in favor of several issues, including repeal of ObamaCare, elimination of the death tax, and limitations on domestic surveillance. Key votes against legislation include reauthorization of the Export-Import Bank, the FY 2016 budget, and the FY 2016 omnibus bill. Members who score 90 percent on or higher these key votes are eligible for the FreedomFighter Award.

“The winners of the FreedomFighter Award are who our community knows will fight for fiscally conservative and constitutional principles on Capitol Hill. We’re excited to see so many members continue to show that they are committed to limited government, as well as to see many new names added to the list of award winners,” said FreedomWorks CEO Adam Brandon. “Still, our activists know that we have a long way to go to advance economic freedom through pro-growth policies and fight the regulatory state by restoring the constitutional separation of powers.”

“The FreedomWorks scorecard is an important tool for our activists to understand how members of the House and Senate vote on bills and amendments,” said FreedomWorks Director of Government Relations Neil Siefring. “The winners of the Freedom Fighter award are the true warriors in Congress for free markets, individual liberty, and the Constitution.”

2015 FreedomFighter Award Winners

Senate (9)

Sen. Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Sen. Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Sen. Mike Lee (R-Utah), Sen. Rand Paul (R-Ky.), Sen. Tom Cotton (R-Ark.), Sen. Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Sen. Jim Risch (R-Idaho), Sen. Ben Sasse (R-Nebr.), Sen. Richard Shelby (R-Ala.)

Members in italics earned 100 percent scores.

House (41)

Rep. Justin Amash (R-Mich.), Rep. Dave Brat (R-Va.), Rep. Curt Clawson (R-Fla.), Rep. Scott DesJarlais (R-Tenn.), Rep. Jeff Duncan (R-S.C.),
Rep. Louie Gohmert (R-Texas), Rep. Andy Harris (R-Md.), Rep. Jody Hice (R-Ga.), Rep. Tim Huelskamp (R-Kans.), Rep. Jim Jordan (R-Ohio), Rep. Thomas Massie (R-Ky.), Rep. Tom McClintock (R-Calif.), Rep. Bill Posey (R-Fla.), Rep. David Schweikert (R-Ariz.)
, Rep. Diane Black (R-Tenn.), Rep. Jim Bridenstine (R-Okla.), Rep. Mo Brooks (R-Ala.), Rep. Ken Buck (R-Colo.), Rep. Ron DeSantis (R-Fla.), Rep. Virginia Foxx (R-N.C.), Rep. Robert Hurt (R-Va.), Rep. Sam Johnson (R-Texas), Rep. Walter Jones (R-N.C.), Rep. Raul Labrador (R-Idaho), Rep. Doug Lamborn (R-Colo.), Rep. Barry Loudermilk (R-Ga.), Rep. Mark Meadows (R-N.C.), Rep. Jeff Miller (R-Fla.), Rep. Alex Mooney (R-W.Va.), Rep. Mick Mulvaney (R-S.C.), Rep. Randy Neugebauer (R-Texas), Rep. Gary Palmer (R-Ala.), Rep. Scott Perry (R-Penn.), Rep. John Ratcliffe (R-Texas), Rep. Dana Rohrabacher (R-Calif.), Rep. Matt Salmon (R-Ariz.), Rep. Mark Sanford (R-S.C.), Rep. Lamar Smith (R-Texas), Rep. Marlin Stutzman (R-Ind.), Rep. Mark Walker (R-N.C.), Rep. Ted Yoho (R-Fla.)

Members in italics earned 100 percent scores.

FreedomWorks aims to educate, build, and mobilize the largest network of activists advocating the principles of smaller government, lower taxes, free markets, personal liberty and the rule of law. For more information, please visit or contact Jason Pye at