FreedomWorks Announces 2017 FreedomFighter Award Recipients

WASHINGTON, D.C. – FreedomWorks is proud to announce the FreedomFighter Award winners for 2017. The FreedomFighter award recognizes exceptional Members of Congress who have proven to be dedicated supporters of economic freedom and personal liberty.
Eligibility for the award is based on votes on FreedomWorks’ Congressional Scorecard. In 2017, FreedomWorks scored key votes for legislation across several issues areas, including resolutions of disapproval for onerous Obama-era regulations, amendments to appropriations bills that sought to eliminate wasteful spending, and a tax reform bill that has provided real tax relief for Americans and unleashed incredible economic growth.

FreedomWorks President, Adam Brandon, commented:

“The recipients of the FreedomFighter Award showed a commitment in 2017 to pro-growth economic policies and constitutionally limited government. We’re proud to recognize these senators and representatives. Our work is still cut out for us. Now that we have reduced some regulations and passed a historic tax reform bill, we must continue to pressure Congress to reduce spending to ensure that the prosperity we are seeing now is lasts into the future.”

FreedomWorks Vice President of Legislative Affairs, Jason Pye, commented:

“The winners of the 2017 FreedomFighter Award deserve applause. These members take tough votes, often going against the leadership of their own party, because they want to do what is right by taxpayers. But consistency is key. America is staring down massive budget deficits as a result of the fiscal profligacy of this Congress. We have to continue working to put our country on a sustainable path, repeal ObamaCare, promote free trade, and continue to rollback the regulatory state.”

2017 Freedom Fighter Award Recipients

House (31): Reps. Dave Brat (R-Va.), Jim Jordan (R-Ohio), Mark Meadows (R-N.C.), Scott Perry (R-Pa.), Luke Messer (R-Ind.), Warren Davidson (R-Ohio), Jim Banks (R-Ind.), Andy Biggs (R-Ariz.), Scott DesJarlais (R-Tenn.), Jeff Duncan (R-S.C.), Paul Gosar (R-Ariz.), Andy Harris (R-Md.), Thomas Massie (R-Ky.), David Schweikert (R-Ariz.), Justin Amash (R-Mich.), Tom Garrett (R-Va.), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Ted Budd (R-N.C.), Morgan Griffith (R-Va.), Jody Hice (R-Ga.), Richard Hudson (R-N.C.), Raul Labrador (R-Idaho), Doug Lamborn (R-Colo.), Barry Loudermilk (R-Ga.), Gary Palmer (R-Ala.), Jim Sensenbrenner (R-Wisc.), Mo Brooks (R-Ala.), Ken Buck (R-Colo.), Steve Chabot (R-Ohio), Bob Goodlatte (R-Va.), Todd Rokita (R-Ind.)

Senate (11): Sens. Jeff Flake (R-Ariz.), Mike Lee (R-Utah), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Rand Paul (R-Ky.), Ben Sasse (R-Neb.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Jim Risch (R-Idaho), John Kennedy (R-La.), Tim Scott (R-S.C.), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Pat Toomey (R-Pa.)

Today, Tuesday, July 17, FreedomWorks President Adam Brandon and FreedomWorks Vice President of Legislative Affairs Jason Pye will present the awards in 441 Cannon House Office Building from 10:00 AM to 12:30 PM, and 2456 Rayburn House Office Building from 4:00 PM to 6:00 PM.