Update: Slaughter Rule Passes…But Our Fight Continues!

House Minority Leader John Boehner (R-Ohio), just announced that the Democrats have endorsed the Slaughter Solution Vote.  The opposition to this scheme was bipartisan as 28 Democratic Representatives (Adler, Arcuri, Boren, Bright, Carney, Childers, Cooper, Costello, Dahlkemper, Davis (Ala), Giffords, Hereseth-Sandlin, Holden, Kosmos, Kratovil, Lipinski, McIntyre, McNerney, Melancon, Michaud, Minnick, Mitchell, Nye, Perriello, Shuler, Stupak, Taylor, Teague) joined with the Republicans in opposing the Slaughter scheme. 

Three Democrats (Ackerman, Zoe Lofgren, Stark)and three Republicans didn’t vote (Hastings, Hoekstra, Westmorland).

This arguably unconstitutional legislative maneuver would allow Obamacare 2.0 congressional supporters to pass a bill without technically voting for it. What ends up happening is that the House passes the original bill and an amendatory bill, and does so with one single vote. The amendatory bill is the bill that is relayed to the Senate, which the Senate then passes. After this process, the vote is deemed as passed. However, it will have passed without the House and the Senate having voted on the exact same bill, which consequently raises the red flag of unconstitutionality.

House voting on this bill will take place this upcoming Sunday, and so that means that we have the next 72 hours to lobby our congressmen to vote No for the pending health care legislation. Despite the Democrats’ legislative trickery, it is important that we continue this vigilant fight against Obamacare 2.0! So, let’s be persistent. Obamacare 2.0 will not pass because we the people will not let it!

Join our fight against Obamacare 2.0 by signing our petition at NoHealthCareReconciliation.com. Also, check out our Obamacare 2.0 war room as well as our newly released Key Vote: Stop Slaughter Scheme.