Senate Votes on Repeal on the Death Tax

Here is a list of how individual Senators voted in the 54-44 roll call by which the Senate rejected permanent repeal of the estate tax. A 60-vote majority was required for passage.

On this vote, a “yes” vote was a vote in favor of permanent repeal and a “no” vote was a vote against it.

Voting “yes” were 9 Democrats and 45 Republicans.

Voting “no” were 41 Democrats, 2 Republicans and 1 independent.

Democrats Yes

Baucus, Mont.; Bayh, Ind.; Cleland, Ga.; Landrieu, La.; Lincoln, Ark.; Miller, Ga.; Nelson, Fla.; Nelson, Neb.; Wyden, Ore.

Democrats No

Akaka, Hawaii; Biden, Del.; Bingaman, N.M.; Boxer, Calif.; Breaux, La.; Byrd, W.Va.; Cantwell, Wash.; Carnahan, Mo.; Carper, Del.; Clinton, N.Y.; Conrad, N.D.; Corzine, N.J.; Daschle, S.D.; Dayton, Minn.; Dodd, Conn.; Dorgan, N.D.; Durbin, Ill.; Edwards, N.C.; Feingold, Wis.; Feinstein, Calif.; Graham, Fla.; Harkin, Iowa; Hollings, S.C.; Inouye, Hawaii; Johnson, S.D.; Kennedy, Mass.; Kerry, Mass.; Kohl, Wis.; Leahy, Vt.; Levin, Mich.; Lieberman, Conn.; Mikulski, Md.; Murray, Wash.; Reed, R.I.; Reid, Nev.; Rockefeller, W.Va.; Sarbanes, Md.; Schumer, N.Y.; Stabenow, Mich.; Torricelli, N.J.; Wellstone, Minn.

Republicans Yes

Allard, Colo.; Allen, Va.; Bennett, Utah; Bond, Mo.; Brownback, Kan.; Bunning, Ky.; Burns, Mont.; Campbell, Colo.; Cochran, Miss.; Collins, Maine; Craig, Idaho; DeWine, Ohio; Domenici, N.M.; Ensign, Nev.; Enzi, Wyo.; Fitzgerald, Ill.; Frist, Tenn.; Gramm, Texas; Grassley, Iowa; Gregg, N.H.; Hagel, Neb.; Hatch, Utah; Hutchinson, Ark.; Hutchison, Texas; Inhofe, Okla.; Kyl, Ariz.; Lott, Miss.; Lugar, Ind.; McConnell, Ky.; Murkowski, Alaska; Nickles, Okla.; Roberts, Kan.; Santorum, Pa.; Sessions, Ala.; Shelby, Ala.; Smith, N.H.; Smith, Ore.; Snowe, Maine; Specter, Pa.; Stevens, Alaska; Thomas, Wyo.; Thompson, Tenn.; Thurmond, S.C.; Voinovich, Ohio; Warner, Va.

Republicans No

Chafee, R.I.; McCain, Ariz.

Republicans Not Voting

Crapo, Idaho; Helms, N.C.

Independent No

Jeffords, Vt.

Become a Freedom Team Member

Make an impact in your community by becoming a Freedom Team member!

Join Us Today