Texas Citizens for a Sound Economy Honors Rep. Carl Isett as “Friend of the Taxpayer”

Texas Citizens for a Sound Economy director Peggy Venable honored Rep. Carl Isett (Dist. 84) as a “Friends of the Taxpayer” for his leadership in supporting free-market public policies. The award was presented at 2:00 pm Monday, November 19, at the Lubbock Chamber of Commerce, 1301 Broadway.

Peggy Venable presents Rep. Carl Isett

with the “Friends of the Taxpayer” award.

“Rep. Isett’s expertise on finance issues has contributed to his influence as a leader in the House who gets things done,” said Texas CSE Director Peggy Venable. “He works well with both sides and uses his financial experience to address taxpayer interests.”

“He is among the legislators who have made a commitment to empowering the Texas taxpayers by relieving them of burdensome taxation, regulation and state spending,” said Venable.

Texas CSE selects state legislators to receive the Friend of the Taxpayer Award based on their demonstrated support of the principles of less government, lower taxes and fewer regulations.

“Through their work to reduce the size and scope of government, these state leaders empower citizens to make the decisions that affect their own lives, rather than enabling government make decisions for them,” added Venable. “We need more legislators like these who are committed to the principles of free markets and American values.”

Rep. Isett was cited for his sponsorship of legislation promoting spending limitations (HJR 66), for his legislation to eliminate double phone taxes (HB 1025) and for his opposition of tax increases.

“CSE is a valuable organization of citizens committed to helping find solution and I have enjoyed working with them. I am highly honored to be named by this group as a friend of the taxpayer,” said Rep. Isett.

Three TV stations, one radio station and the Lubbock Avalanche-Journal attended the press conference as did the local CSE organizer, Robert Pratt.

Other Friend of the Taxpayer Award recipients include:

Gov. Rick Perry, who was steadfast in his opposition to new taxes and tax increases.

Rep. Arlene Wohlgemuth (Dist. 58) for her sponsorship the past two sessions of legislation that requires a supermajority vote of the House to enact a new tax or increase taxes (HJR 23).

Sen. David Sibley (Dist. 22) for sponsoring in the Senate legislation to eliminate double taxation on telephone bills (SB 547).

Rep. Suzanna Hupp (Dist. 54) and Rep. Sid Miller (Dist. 59) for sponsoring legislation that promotes privacy (HB 673 and HB 307, respectively).

Rep. Kent Grusendorf (Dist. 94) for his sponsoring the Teacher Protection Act, which provides protection against lawsuits to teachers (HB 2664); and for his sponsoring a resolution supporting President Bush’s tax cuts (HCR 207).

Rep. Rob Junell (Dist. 72) and Sen. Teel Bivins (Dist. 31) are recognized for their class action legislation (HB 2072 and SB 842).

Rep. Ron Wilson (Dist. 131) for sponsoring legislation that would create a public education voucher pilot program for certain students (HB 1240).

Land Commissioner David Dewhurst is recognized not for what he has attempted to do but what he has done. For the second straight two-year biennium, the Texas General Land Office has asked the Legislature for less funding and fewer employees than the previous biennium.

For the first time, Texas CSE has identified a “thumbs down to:” category for those legislators who have been most egregious in their actions to grow government. The Thumbs Down designation is going to sponsors of the Granny Tax (SB 1839), state income tax (HB 3293), the five-cent gas tax increase (HB 1682), legislation which provided a blank check for trial lawyers (SB 1653 and HB 1433), and all legislators for voting for Teacher Health Insurance (HB 3343).

“CSE strives to recognize legislators for their good work. However, we don’t hesitate to actively oppose bad legislation,” said Venable.

“It should not go unheeded that most of the legislation we cited did not pass. This 77th Legislative Session was a defensive session for taxpayers. “As taxpayers are tightening their belts, we need more leaders like these in the next legislative session will do the same with the state budget,” said Venable.

Become a Freedom Team Member

Make an impact in your community by becoming a Freedom Team member!

Join Us Today