Texas CSE Designates “Friends of the Taxpayer”

The Friend of the Taxpayer Award from Texas Citizens for a Sound Economy is a new recognition for policymakers whose efforts have contributed to protect the pocketbooks of constituents and for dedication to public service.

“We want policymakers to remember that every dime government spends comes from taxpayers and consumers,” said Peggy Venable, director of Texas CSE. “We commend the efforts of the award recipients to make sure taxpayers are getting their money’s worth and that government does not make decisions consumers should be making in the marketplace.”

This is the first year Texas CSE has presented its Friend of the Taxpayer Award. Texas CSE selected state legislators and office holders to receive this award based on their consistent support of the principles of less government, lower taxes and fewer regulations.

The commitment award winners have made to empowering their constituents to participate in public policy decision making and appreciate that that citizens can manage their lives better than a government bureaucrat can.

These legislators have also significantly helped consumers during the past legislative session by supporting civil justice reform. By limiting run away lawsuits and greedy trial lawyers, consumers will find higher quality, safer and lower priced products in the marketplace.

1999 Friend of Taxpayer award recipients are:

Comptroller Carole Keeton Rylander received the first Friend of the Taxpayer Award when she addressed approximately 150 Texas CSE activists at the first Texas CSE Day at the Capitol.

Sen. Jane Nelson – Flower Mound

Sen. Mike Jackson – LaPorte

Sen. Steve Ogden – Bryan

Sen. Troy Frasier – Marble Falls

Rep. Talmadge Heflin – Houston

Rep. Joe Crabb – Altascocita/Kingwood

Rep.Ronny Crownover – Denton

Rep. John Davis – Houston

Rep. Rick Green – Dripping Springs

Rep. Charlie Howard – Sugar Land

Rep. Carl Isett – Lubbock

Rep. John Shields – San Antonio

Rep. John Culberson – Houston

Rep. Mary Denny – Aubrey

Rep. Will Hartnett – Dallas

Rep. Fred Hill – Richardson

Rep. Robert Talton – Pasadena

Rep. Suzanna Hupp – Lampasas

Rep. Leo Berman – Tyler

Rep. Wayne Christian – Center

Rep. Mike Krusse – Round Rock

Rep. Jerry Madden – Richardson

Rep. Todd Staples – Palestine

Rep. Arlene Wohlgemuth – Burleson

Rep. Kenn George – Dallas